WWE Payback Preview: Predictions and Analysis From the Casual WWE Viewer

Hello Tru School Sports readers! My name is Brenden Belluardo, and I am here to cover what’s happening in the WWE Universe.

Before I get to Payback this Sunday, I’d like to offer some background on my history with the WWE. Nearly ten years ago, I began watching Smackdown, Raw, and ECW religiously on television. As a kid, I was naturally a fervent John Cena fan, and my friends and I frequently wrestled on each other’s trampolines and created replica titles , entrances, names, etc. My favorite game was Smackdown vs. Raw, I owned multiple action figures, and I was completely consumed by wrestling in general.

My most memorable WWE moment was attending the 2008 Royal Rumble at Madison Square Garden in New York City. 

This was the year the John Cena returned from injury at spot number 30 to win the Royal Rumble (at around the 6:00 mark). That moment was the highlight of my life at the time, and Cena received one of the biggest pops in recent WWE history.

Once I got too old for the WWE, I took a long break from watching the show. I moved into live sports, which were acceptable for the average middle schooler. Only recently did I stumble upon Wrestlemania XXX and found myself shouting YES! at my computer screen. Now, I don’t let my age limit the fun I have watching WWE programs. In fact, now I watch it every Monday and Friday with my little sister, who I brought into the Universe as well. And today, I’m here sharing the experience with you, the TSS readers!

WWEPayback2014poster

Now onto Payback.  Payback will take place this Sunday at the Allstate Arena, and while this PPV might not be as important as WM30 or Extreme Rules (mainly because Daniel Bryan isn’t on the card), the show must go on. We’re coming toward the end of a few rivalries here, and I think this PPV will mark a shift in many central storylines in the weeks leading up to Money in the Bank.

 

Match 1: El Torito vs. Hornswoggle in a Mask vs. Hair match

 

The first match at Payback 2014

The first match at Payback 2014

This feud has gone on way too long. Even JBL’s enthusiasm for this rivalry has drastically dropped since the WeeLC match at Extreme Rules. And we have a right to be done with this feud; The Matadores are nothing special, and 3MB is practically irrelevant. Honestly, I hope this match ends the storyline between these two, primarily because I’d like to see superstars like Heath Slader get back into regular action.

Who we want to win: Hornswoggle, because I don’t know about you, but I’m dying to see what El Torito looks like under that mask.

Who will probably win: El Torito, but in reality, I’m fairly certain that the outcome of this match will have little to no meaning to anyone.

 

Match 2: Evolution vs. The Shield in a No Holds Barred Elimination Tag Team Match

Evolution takes on The Shield in the second match at Payback

The Shield looks to get payback for their victory at Extreme Rules

Get ready folks, because I’m pretty certain this will be the last time you’ll see The Shield ever face Evolution. That may or may not have anything to do with the fact that everyone in the WWE has said those exact words at some point since their match at Extreme Rules. I’m a personal fan of this rivalry. It’s a classic authority vs. rebellion storyline, but the heated personalities in this feud do a great job at creating excitement.

There are two ways this match can go. If Evolution wins, the end of The Shield as we know it is imminent. Whether that means disbanding them, giving one a win at MITB, or something along those lines. Conversely, if The Shield come out of Sunday’s match with a win, that would perhaps foreshadow an Evolution breakup. Maybe Batista might retire, or they have bigger plans for Randy Orton. Maybe Triple H will go back to a leadership role within the company. Either way, this match is bound to be just as good, if not better, than the one at Extreme Rules.

Who we want to win: The Shield, for their high-flying style, deep personalities, and our collective hatred for Evolution.

Who will probably win: The Shield. I think the WWE needs the fans to get excited after the loss of Daniel Bryan, and a face victory at Payback would do just that.

 

Match 3: John Cena vs. Bray Wyatt in a Last Man Standing Match

Bray Wyatt faces John Cena (again) at Payback

Bray Wyatt faces John Cena (again) at Payback

Here we go again. So when I came back to the WWE earlier this year, the Wyatt Family was the most interesting gimmick I had probably ever come across. I love the unexpectedness and spontaneity of their entrance and their backstory. I even enjoyed their match at Extreme Rules to a certain extent, if only because Cena lost. But this feud desperately needs to end. Bray Wyatt is capable of much greater things than spewing his same message every Raw and singing a song. The more this rivalry drudges on, the faster Bray’s potential diminishes.

Who we want to win: Bray Wyatt, because SuperCena.

Who will probably win: John Cena, because SuperCena. (see above)

 

Match 4: Bad News Barrett vs. Rob Van Dam for the Intercontinental Championship

RVD hopes to avoid some bad news at Payback

RVD hopes to avoid some bad news at Payback

The WWE is taking its midcard in the right direction. Save for uniting the titles, they seem to be demonstrating their significance, especially after the BNB vs. Sheamus match on Smackdown. For years, these titles have been mere figureheads for superstars not yet ready for the spotlight. Now, it seems as though these titles may instead serve as a springboard for the champion into elite matches later on. I’m a big fan of Bad News Barrett, as his gimmick makes him a heel you cannot help but admire for his cynicism. Whereas RVD is headed for the exit of his WWE career, I see big things in Barrett’s future.

Who we want to win: Bad News Barrett, because he’s a rising star, and also because I’m extremely tired of RVD’s hand gestures

RVD20point20to20self_display_image

R V D! R V D! r… v…. d…. r……. v…… d…… zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

:

Who will probably win: RVD, because the WWE excels at stopping a rising superstar’s momentum right in its tracks.

 

Match 5: Sheamus vs. Cesaro for the United States Championship

Payback_SheamusCesaro

Shaemus vs. Cesaro: A match to commemorate Brock Lesnar for ending The Undertaker’s streak at Wrestlemania 30.

Did you know that Cesaro won the first annual Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal? Really, me neither! This match is similar to the BNB match, mainly because of Cesaro’s potential to be a premier superstar in the WWE. With a win tomorrow night, Cesaro would place himself in a great position to later challenge for the elite titles. I think Sheamus  was just the WWE’s most relevant opponent to place in this match as a jobber for Heyman’s number one man. With the directions these two superstars are going, it would be a surprise if Sheamus comes out of this one with a victory.

Who we want to win: Sheamus, because Paul Heyman deserves a Brogue Kick to the face.

Who will probably win: Cesaro, because the WWE knows that Cesaro is a great investment moving forward.

 

Match 6: Paige vs. Alicia Fox for the Divas Championship

Spoiler Alert: Alicia Fox wins the match by posting a video of an unconscious Paige to Instagram.

Spoiler Alert: Alicia Fox wins the match by posting a video of an unconscious Paige to Instagram.

I never thought I would actually be excited for this match. But here we are, and Alicia Fox has gone 100% insane. Now granted, when Paige won the title a few months back, I was mesmerized. Paige was probably the first Diva I actually found myself interested in following. But for some reason, I find myself rooting for Alicia Fox tomorrow night. Why? Because she’s crazy, that’s why! I don’t care if this is the PG/Reality Era of WWE, I cannot wait to see what ridiculous thing she might do next.

Who we want to win: Alicia Fox, because she’s about as stable as a Japanese nuclear reactor.

Who will probably win: Alicia Fox, because the WWE stands to make a lot of money off of characters like her.

 

Match 7: Rusev vs. Big E

Expect Vladimir Putin to make a surprise appearance as Guest Referee

Expect Vladimir Putin to make a surprise appearance as Guest Referee

Disclaimer: I’m only watching this match because of Lana. That’s it. I don’t know why Big E is suddenly the Protector of All Things American now, but somehow this match is on the card. I don’t know how the WWE is pulling off this whole USA vs. Russia theme, but apparently there must be some sort of direction with this feud. It also helps that Big E is probably the only person on the roster physically comparable to Rusev in the first place. Here’s hoping Rusev gets his push soon, because his gimmick is old already.

Who we want to win: Lana, even though she’s not fighting. She has more potential in this business than the other two.

Who will probably definitely win: Rusev, because Rusev Crush, Rusev Smash.

 

Well that does it for my preview of Payback 2014. Let me know what you think in the comments, and make sure to stay tuned for more! I’ll try to do a liveblog tomorrow night to catch the exciting events (with a touch of sarcasm) as they happen!