Astros Prospect David Rollins Talks About His Off-season And More

I recently had the chance to interview Astros prospect David Rollins via email. The southpaw had a great 2013 season – as he was promoted from High-A Lancaster to Double-A Corpus Christi in early August. I had the chance to ask David about his stellar 2013 campaign, as well as what he is doing this off-season and what he’s looking forward to next season.
Anton Joe: What do you think you did well this past season playing in the minors?
David Rollins: I think I developed myself as a pitcher real well. Kept the ball down. I feel like I had a pretty good season.

AJ: What are some things that you feel you need to improve on going into next season?

DR: I need to improve my pick off move and the curveball I’ve been working on.


AJ: Do you have any workout plans during the off season? (Pitching programs, workout routines, etc.)

DR: My off-season workouts consist of lifting everyday. I have recently started long-tossing and playing catch. I run everyday also. Even when the weather here in Dallas is bi-polar. Example: It was 80 something last weekend and now its 30 something haha.

AJ: Is there anyone in particular that you train with during the off season?

DR: I train with my pitching coach’s son Ty Washington. He is a player in the Reds organization.

AJ: Do you plan on visiting your old schools (Carthrage High School and/or San Jancinto Junior College) in the off season?

DR: Yes. When I get home from the season I always go and show some love to the coaches at San Jac and see my old teachers from Carthage and give them baseball cards and take pics with them and all that jazz.


AJ: What’s your favorite part about the off season?

DR: My favorite part of the off-season is being home with my family and friends. It’s nice being with the people that have been there for me through my ups and downs.


AJ: Favorite moment of the 2013 season?

DR: Best moment was when we clinched first place in Lancaster (Astros High-A affiliate). Coming together as one big family and celebrating was a moment I’ll never forget and will always treasure that for the rest of my life.

AJ: Were there any spectacular plays that you made in the 2013 season that you remember vividly?

DR: The only one I remember like it was yesterday was when I pitched against Rancho Cucamonga (Dodgers High-A affiliate) and had a line drive hit back at me and I just so happened to catch it. I still play that over and over again in my head. Definitely a moment no pitcher will ever forget. Scary stuff.


AJ: What are your expectations heading into next season?

DR: My expectations for this season is to get better and keep working my way up the ladder. It’s a long journey and its a tough one on top of that.


Thanks for your time once again, David. Big thanks to you!

(I interviewed David this past summer as well. If you’re interested in reading that interview click here.)

You can follow David on Twitter @rawdeezy14.

Follow me on Twitter @antonjoe22 & check me out on Google+ (+Anton Joe).

